top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikita Paul

The Guise of Grief


Nobody knows what it feels like!

They killed my Lord and now His body is gone

My friends hide and pray through the night

My hope shattered, I walk the streets alone

Could it be real? He appeared to them, they say?

Should I join them as they pray today?

How can I believe what I have not seen?

What can I say, He didn't appear to me!


Thomas! Put your finger in my side

Thomas! I've risen, there's no need to hide

Doubt, fear, uncertainty or grief

Whatever the guise of your unbelief,

You are never so lost, broken or bound

That by My grace, you cannot be found.


Nobody knows what it feels like!

Betraying someone you loved so dearly

Without even a chance to apologize

And now He appears to us so clearly!

I don't know how to face Him now!

I don't think I'm cut out for this somehow.

Maybe I'll go back to fishing again

I doubt I can stay true to my new name.


Peter! Do you love me? Do you love me more than these?

Peter! Don't worry, even in death you'll glorify me!

Doubt, fear, uncertainty or grief

Whatever the guise of your unbelief,

You are never so lost, broken or bound

That by My grace, you cannot be found.


Nobody knows what it feels like!

To have your hopes dashed and dreams uprooted

In one fell swoop. I can't help but wonder why

Why did He pick me? Was it something I did?

He's helped me fight so many battles before

There was freedom and joy for a while, I know.

But I guess it's ok to slip now and then

After all, it's His fault, this mess I'm in!


My child! Do you like Thomas need to see?

My child! Will you like Peter deny me?

Though you still reel in your grief

Though that be the guise of your unbelief,

You are never so lost, broken or bound

That by My grace, you cannot be found

 

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Prune

bottom of page