top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikita Paul

The God of the Underdog


In a world where the advantages and subsequent injustice perpetrated by 'privilege' dominates public discourse, I hope you wouldn't mind me risking a few thoughts on the advantages of the lack of it.


If you know me, you would be completely justified in turning around and scoffing, "you're one to speak! You are the very definition of privilege." So let me clarify right away, I agree with you! The only explanation I can offer to what I say here is (if I may be so bold to make the claim) - the Spirit of God compels me! I am compelled by One to whom my eternal allegiance belongs, so I do hope you will pardon my privileged pondering.


I have heard it often said that Jesus wisely chose women to bear the responsibility of carrying the news that He was Messiah and that He was risen - two pieces of information that would prove absolutely vital to His ministry on earth. Now, as an independent, thinking woman of this century, I'm tempted to think that Jesus knew a woman's innate ability to be responsible, reliable, not easily deterred from what she sets her mind to, zealous, loud and so much more, and hence counted her the best person for the crucial mission. But was it, really?


Let me try and play the devil's advocate here.


At the well, given the precision of his timing, was He picking an efficient woman as much as He was picking the adulteress?


As for the choice of Mary Magdalene, the account in Mark mentions only one qualification for the follower He chose to reveal his resurrection to, "out of whom he had driven out seven demons." So was Jesus picking a zealous lady as much as He picked an ex-demon possessed one? If we were to make a list of all of Jesus's followers based on their social standing at the time, it is quite possible that she would have been the very last person on that list.


Now before you consider me somewhat opposed to women empowerment, let me tell you that I can't see that He was much different in His choice of men, either. The Bible is littered with His choosing the like; downright nobodies - stammering cowards, failing fisherman, the last sons of the least tribes or plain infamous characters - murderers, money launderers, temperamental yet patient havoc wreckers (I mean who takes the time to catch 300 foxes and tie each one's tail to another so he can set fields on fire because he was feeling upset?)


Paul couldn't have made it clearer when he said,

But God chose the foolish things... the weak things of the world... the lowly things of this world and the despised things—and the things that are not... - 1 Corinthians 1: 27-28

How often we in the Church think to ourselves, "what can I do for God, what are my strengths, what can I give to Him?", as if He needs anything that we are! I'm convinced that the whole time His eyes are firmly fixed on what we are not!


Every good sports movie ever made focused on the rise of the underdog and I've always wondered if that tugged at our heartstrings only because the underdog had always tugged at our Creator's heartstrings as well. Perhaps He passed on something of that trait in the image He shared with us. But a much greater purpose looms behind every failure turned hero in the Bible -

That no flesh should glory in His presence - 1 Corinthians 1: 29

Surely, the tragic lack of privilege and the ensuing injustice in the lives of our world's "lesser ones" break our hearts. But, oh, what a great advantage our nothingness holds in the presence of God.


If I may be so bold as to borrow and make another emphatic declaration here, it will be this - all of my privileged life and upbringing, I consider it only to be fit for the manure pile. If I boast in anything, I must only boast in my many failings and weaknesses so that the wondrous riches of God's grace may be known and His name alone be glorified.


I do feel the burning ache of you, my friend, who don't have even this privilege of choosing what you will boast in, since all of your life has only ever been disadvantage and derision. But I also feel a slight pang of jealousy. Because unlike you, I had the choice. And even as I write this, I rise and dust off the dirt after having, once again, made my boast in one of my earthly privileges and fallen, exposing the sheer futility of that act. It makes me wonder if favouritism is merely in the eye of the beholder.


And so I sign off hoping my ruminations have, at the very least, given your mind some cud to chew on, however unpleasant; while I laugh to myself that He, in a great show of consistency, has, once again, picked the worst person for this job!

 

191 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page