top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikita Paul

Greatly Flawed yet Highly Favoured (Part 1)

Updated: Jan 24, 2022



Right off the bat, I will confess the foundations for this personally heart-altering thought was laid by many different men of God over this Christmas season. I'm grateful to God for them all.


In all my years of hearing the story of Christmas it never struck me that God had two dramatically different signs to show to two diametrically different groups of people in the narrative of Christ's birth.


The lowly shepherds were treated to quite the show while the wealthy magi got a cryptic star.


The simple shepherds got a sign that would be very hard to miss - "This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger."


While the Wise men got an ominous celestial body which was probably one among a million. It's no wonder that they eventually took a hunch and tried the palace. I know I would. I'm not all that wise but after weeks on camel-back, I'd have tried my luck at the most likely place to find a baby king as well.


This, though wasn't the first time God chose completely opposite ways to communicate the same thing. In wanting to make His presence felt, there were times He chose something that resembled an erupting volcano (Mount Sinai was covered with smoke, because the Lord descended on it in fire. The smoke billowed up from it like smoke from a furnace, the whole mountain trembled violently - Exodus 19:18) and there were times He preferred a gentle whisper (and after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire; and after the fire a still small voice. - 1 Kings 19:12). And both times He proved to be successful!


This past month I've found myself often wondering, "What if I miss it when God speaks to me?" I'm not sure if you're familiar with that position but to me it is an unfortunate home. I live in that place where I obesses, "Have I completely got this or that wrong. Did God say this? Did He not? Did I mishear? Did I misunderstand? "


This Christmas, I was once again reminded of the unmerited favour and humility of God that meets me where I am. Looking down at the sheep or looking up into the sky - God finds us. We may be wise men who lose our way or simple shepherds who need things spelt out for us but He still makes Himself heard and helps us make our way home - to Christ.


This year, "Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favour rests." (Luke 2:14) took on a deeper hue for me. And my heart glorifies the God who can initiate peace and show favour to ones so deeply flawed as me.


I know it's practically the end of the Christmas season but look out for Part 2 of Greatly Flawed but Highly Favoured - Mary, did you know?




 




76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page