top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikita Paul

Letters to the God of Words - #6 Mercy



Dear God of Words,


This is Nik(odemus) again. Thanks for clarifying the word 'Grace' in your previous letter for me! I think I'm starting to see it a bit more clearly now. I'm writing to you now, to ask about a similar, equally difficult word - Mercy.


My problem with Grace was 'How do I do it' but my problem with Mercy is plain 'I don't want to do it!'


Now before you get all upset with me, hear me out. I know you say "be merciful just as your Father is merciful" but I just can't, when every atom of my being is screaming out for Justice! Do you want me to just excuse? Turn a blind eye? Why would I show mercy to a government that failed my people, to that hospital that's being careless with lives entrusted to them (I admit they must be exhausted but it's still not fair), to the irresponsible guy across the street throwing a party, to the clot who decided to join a massive procession, to the fool who wears his mask on his chin? Especially when we who are doing everything we can on our part are still having to suffer for it. I feel I'm every bit justified in my rage against them!!


Don't you??


Nik(oh no, you don’t!)mus


Dear Nik(oh no, you don’t!)mus,


It's nice to hear from you again. I'm glad you wrote to me about this, Nik. Suffering for the sins of others - I happen to know a thing or two about that. And you're right, we don't excuse. We don't turn a blind eye. We see it, look at it in all its ugliness and we respond to it.


Before we go on to 'Mercy', let me tell you, I hear you loud and clear on that call for Justice. And you're very much justified in doing it. This might take you a bit of time to confirm for yourself, but do you know that Justice is more often discussed in My Word than Mercy is? Not by too much, but it is. And it's who I am! I am Just. Your atoms take after me in that matter.


Let me just clarify one thing for you though, Nik. It's not uncommon to read 'be merciful just as your Father is merciful' as a recommendation or suggestion of some sort. But the truth is it's a command and one for your own good. Perhaps that's a bit more evident when put this way - 'blessed are the merciful for they shall receive mercy.' Many more are willing when they see that the mercy they receive is affected by the mercy that they extend to another.


You're right. The inept government, the negligent hospital, the irresponsible neighbor are all undeserving. But mercy, by its very definition, is extended to the undeserving. Mercy is only ever appealed for by an undeserving individual. Perhaps you'll recall a time when you called out to me for mercy; was it not in the wake of some great sin you committed? And what you won't recall is when you didn't call out to me, when you were undeserving and still there it was - a fresh, new ration of mercy from me in the morning.


But the real question here is how can we possibly do both. How does one serve both justice and mercy? Can the two even coexist? The answer is it can and it has. You need only to look at the cross for evidence. A single act that was both justice served and mercy extended.


I don't mean to brag but that was something of masterstroke on my part and it is possible that you think that such a solution has never been found to anything, since. But I beg to differ. Now I may not have a one-size-fits-all solution but every single time you find yourself struggling between justice and mercy, such a solution can be found. The only catch is that you let Me help you find it. That might mean having to let go of that blow up that you're tempted to have on Twitter right now and spending some time with me. But I assure you, I can help you find the creative, illuminating, non-stereotypical response that will be in equal parts just and merciful.


So what do you say, Nik? When can I expect you?


Love,

The Just and Merciful God of Words.

 

159 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page